Structure of the Territorial code system

A territorial code is made up of two parts:

- a settlement identification number (positions 1-5),
- a series of grouping criteria (positions 6-45).

Position	Denomination
1-5	settlement identification number,
	the 5th digit of which is a CDV number
6–11	territorial index number: 6–7 county code ¹ 8-9 capital's district code 10 settlement's legal status code 11 county seat code
12-13	settlement's legal status' 2005 code
14	statistical large region code
15-16	region code
17-21	NUTS code
22-25	district code
26-29	agglomeration code
30	grape-bearing area code
31-34	wine region code
35-36	tourism region code
37-38	world heritage site code
39-40	code of buffer zone of the world heritage property
41	beneficiary settlements code
42	beneficiary districts code
43	code of free enterprise zones
44	code of special region from the perspective of regional development
45	code of the economic development zone

¹ The Hungarian name of "county" ("megye") changed (to "vármegye") on 1 January 2023, but the English name remained unchanged.